Maria – I Am a Writer (MOOC Essay)

The first assignment for the English Composition MOOC course.

 

I Am a Writer

First of all, I’d like to introduce myself to you, whoever is reading this; even though I’m kind of scared that this essay might go unread. (I sincerely hope not!) Hey! My name is Maria Joseph and I’d like to thank you for choosing my essay to write a review about. Honestly, I’m going to write this in a more informal manner as I am still a little confused about how I am going to do it. So, I am a writer. At least, I’d like to think of myself as one. Ever since I was a little girl I used to keep a diary to write about my day, I’ve had essays and compositions to write at school; I used to write small poems about my feelings; whenever I was happy, sad, angry, and so on.

As I grew up, I’ve had more sophisticated writing experiences; like writing articles in college magazines, 400-plus-words long essays on complicated theories for my university examinations, which drove me crazy sometimes (I’m not going to lie) and most of all, I have written a number of songs and I have also posted them in my blog online. Maybe songwriting is the kind of writing I’d love to do the most. I am also very fond of writing about life and experiences. As you might have already guessed, I am no good at formal writing; it is one of the things of which I am scared to death. Despite having written a 25-pages working paper for my course on Research Methodology during my first year of post graduation. I still shy away from writing formal materials: reports, articles for academic purposes and even letters for permissions, requests, etc. Well, I guess that would be all about the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

