Maria – Quirks and Rituals of Writing (MOOC Assignment)

MOOC Assignment for week 1 

My Way of Getting Ready to Write

Well now, I need to be honest with you guys. I am the queen of all the procrastinators in the history of the world and I have managed to keep my status intact for the last 22 years of my life. Thus, I don’t have much of a quirk or a ritual before writing something except for the last minutes’ terror, whining, running around and drowning in the depths of the endless ocean of confusion. I know, I know I sound pathetic but that is the honest truth! In fact, I think, I’ve never taken more than a week’s time to complete whatever I have written in my life so far. I’ll begin the thing before 3-4 days ahead the deadline and somehow manage to submit it. Thus, when I listened to the class about drafting, revising, editing, etc, I was like ‘Whoa, I can’t believe I’ve ever been so careless all through my life as an academic writer.’

But, now that I think about it, I may have already gone through all these steps without me even realizing it. I mean, yeah, I would have to collect resources to borrow ideas from, I would have to think about what kind of aspects am I going to present in my writing, the arguments I might raise in my project and statements to support them. I would have to read, reread and edit my project (in fact, that is what I usually spend most of my time on) before submitting it. So, I just found out that I might actually have an organized writing process! But let me tell you, once I start writing something, I DO NOT want to be interrupted. I am the kind of writer who goes on with the flow of words, thoughts and emotions as I write and if, at least for a nanosecond, the chain breaks in the middle? BOOM! There it goes, vanishes, emptiness, just nothing. That, my friend, is the worst part of the whole process. That moment of stress is beyond anyone’s control.

Keeping academic writing aside; I had mentioned in my ‘I am a Writer’ essay that I happen to be a songwriter. Well, that is a different story altogether. Whenever I feel like a new song coming through, I must grab a pen and paper before the little voice inside my brain goes off. I usually prefer to be alone with my piano while I am writing a song. In rare occasions, you might find me scribbling vigorously on a piece of paper in the middle of a crowd. So, it depends on if I am in a mood or not. I remember writing a song in just five minutes just after a fight with my friend. I had written and composed the whole thing in about just eight minutes.

Well, the most important thing is to know what you write and write it with authority and authenticity. I think that is what gives a project or a paper its grace and charm.

 

Leave a Reply

