Allwin K Joy – MOOC- English Composition 1 – I am a Writer

My name is Allwin Joy. I am a student at Christ University, pursuing Masters degree in English Literature. I am a writer. As far as I can remember, my first experience as a writer was in Kindergarten. Don’t be alarmed. It was a dictation test, in which I scored a zero out of ten. However, it was the last time I ever scored below nine in any dictation test henceforth, luckily. Later on in 7th grade, I remember writing a poem on behalf of my little brother for his school magazine entry, which got selected for publishing. I was so happy that I made up my mind that I am going to be a professional writer one day. Several essays and short stories later, in 10th grade, I was made the school magazine editor, and it was a life changing experience.

However, I had to take a break from my writing spree, to pursue an engineering degree in computer science. Yes, I yielded to peer pressure and took up a career path I had no interest in. Later, resigning as a web developer, I joined a knowledge processing company as a copywriter, and rekindled my passion for writing. Now, as I mentioned in the beginning, I am pursuing a Masters degree in English to re-calibrate my career path and become a successful writer. My university has given me ample opportunities to exercise and explore my writing skills. I have written two flash fictions for the department magazine, which won me a lot of accolades and appreciation from different corners. I have also written a research paper on Rabindranath Tagore for department evaluation, and it was a new experience for me, as I wasn’t used to academic writing. Now, I am preparing to write my dissertation, and I hope this course would help me improve my academic writing skills.

Leave a Reply

